If you notice that a grant request is missing information or needs a new attachment, you can ask the applicant to resubmit their application by using the Ask for revisions feature. The applicant will receive an email with a link to their original submission.
In this article:
Before you begin
What's eligible or ineligible for resubmission?
Eligible: Grant requests or invitations that are submitted by an applicant through a form.
Ineligible: Manually submitted grant requests and responses to invitations.
Workflow rules for resubmissions
Workflow rules that automatically assign values when a request is created will not run when a request is resubmitted. To set up different workflow rules for resubmissions, contact your Client Success Manager.
Ask for revisions
To send an applicant a link to their original answers and attachments, and ask for revisions:
- Open the request or invitation and select Ask for revisions in the Actions section.
- Review and customize the email subject and message that contains the resubmission link. Do not delete the %Resubmission.Link% tag. Without that link, the applicant cannot resubmit their application. You can include merge tags that automatically pull information from the original grant application.
- When you're happy with the email, select Send to Applicant. The email is sent 5 minutes after you send. With this time delay, if you realize you forgot to say something, you can always cancel the revision and start over. Applicants receive a reminder email 14 days after the original request for revisions email.
- To see a preview of the email, select Manage email under the Actions section and open the "Resubmit Notification" email. Learn more about managing emails.
Once the request for revisions is sent, the request status is updated to Awaiting Resubmission. A request in this status is locked for edits or reviews and an alert is displayed on the request about the status.
Cancel your ask for revisions
To cancel an ask for revisions, open the request or invitation and select Cancel request for revisions in the Actions section. If the applicant selects the email link to their application, it will be read-only and they will not be able to make any edits.
- If you cancel the request before the original email is sent (within 5 minutes of selecting Send to Applicant), the original email will not go out and the applicant will not be notified of revisions at all.
- If you cancel the request after the original email is sent, a second email will go out, letting the applicant know that their revisions are no longer required.
When revisions are received from the applicant, the request status is updated to Resubmitted. The updates are displayed in the same request and you can highlight revisions by enabling the Revision Highlighting toggle in the Details sub-tab of the request or invitation.
You can track resubmissions through a few different areas of your program.
On the Dashboard
Under the Requests section, you’ll see two cards for tracking resubmissions.
- Select View requests awaiting updates to see a list of all requests with the Awaiting Resubmission status.
- Select View updated requests to see a list of all requests where resubmissions have been received and have Resubmitted status.
You can filter the items by Mine or All, as well as change the time period from all time to the last 7, 14, 30, 60 or 90 days.
In the Requests or Invitations pages
To see the status of the resubmissions on your request or invitations list:
- Go to View Settings.
- Select the Resubmission status and Resubmission date checkboxes.
- Select Save. The two new columns will now show in your list.