Managing volunteer opportunities 

Creating volunteer opportunities is just the beginning of building an engaging goodness program. It’s important to add new and remove old content to keep your site fresh and relevant for your people!  

Get notified by Action Items

You are notified if there is content waiting to be reviewed in the Action Items on the Admin Dashboard. Select Take Action next to the item to view all volunteer opportunities in the Volunteer Bulk Manager

Reviewing volunteer opportunities 

You can also view all volunteer opportunities in your program that are in any status by going to Manage > Volunteer > Bulk Manager.

Here, you can take action on one or more pieces of content. The typical process for reviewing volunteer opportunities is as follows: 

  1. Select Filters to narrow your search results to the list of opportunities you want to review. 
  2. Select the opportunity Title to open the opportunity in view mode. This is how the opportunity will appear to your people when they open it in your program. 
  3. If you’d like to make changes, select Edit in the top right of the opportunity page. You also have the Edit option next to the opportunity in the review list. The opportunity is opened in edit mode so that you can update it and then Submit

In the Bulk Manager table, you have quick access to the following information for each opportunity: 

  • Title: name of the opportunity.
  • Author: user that created the opportunity.
  • Published status: Published, Unpublished or Archived.
  • Post date: date it was created.
  • Start Date: start date of the opportunity. 
  • Source: user or company created. The source is company if the opportunity was created by a user with the Volunteer Manager, Volunteer Manager (non-admin), Volunteer Manager (no reporting), or Volunteer Manager Jr Admin user roles.
  • Approval Status: Approved (approved but may not be published) or Denied
  • Featured: Featured/Unfeatured
  • Country: countries the opportunity is targeted to. 
  • Manage: options to manage the volunteer opportunity. 

Approving or denying an opportunity

You can continue to review opportunities in your review list. If you have one or more opportunities that you’d like to approve or deny, select the checkbox on the left side next to each opportunity in your review list and then choose Approve user content in the Choose an Action dropdown. You can also Deny user content using the same dropdown.

These actions update the Approval Status. Approved content can be published so that it appears in your program. 

You can also take action from within the opportunity editor by going to Admin and choosing Approved or Denied in the Approval Status dropdown. 

Publishing an opportunity 

Once you've approved an opportunity, you can publish it. Published, approved content will appear in your program for your people to engage with. Users can: 

  • Search for the opportunity. 
  • Sign up for the opportunity. 
  • Track time for the opportunity. 

If you have one or more opportunities that you’re ready to publish, select the checkbox on the left side next to each opportunity in your review list and then choose Publish Content in the Choose an Action dropdown. You can also Unpublish Content using the same dropdown. These actions update the Published Status

You can also publish an opportunity from within the opportunity editor by going to Admin, selecting the Publish checkbox and then Submit. To unpublish, deselect the checkbox and Submit

If someone signs up for an opportunity but hasn’t tracked their time, unpublishing the opportunity will remove it from their dashboard. If needed, an admin can republish it so that users can track their time. If someone has signed up and tracked time, an unpublished opportunity is visible in their History

Featuring an opportunity 

Once you've published an opportunity, you can feature it. Featured opportunities appear in the Featured Content carousel on the Dashboard for users you have targeted it to. If you have one or more opportunities that you’re ready to feature, select the checkbox on the left side next to each opportunity in your review list and then choose Feature Content in the Choose an Action dropdown. 

You can also Un-feature Content using the same dropdown. These options update the Featured status. If the opportunity is unfeatured and remains published, your people can still search and sign up for the opportunity.

Archiving an opportunity

When an opportunity ends or you want to remove it, you can archive it. Archived opportunities are not visible to your people but do continue to appear in the Bulk Manager. If you have one or more opportunities that you’re ready to archive, select the checkbox on the left side next to each opportunity in your review list and then choose Archive Campaign in the Choose an Action dropdown. You can also Unarchive Campaign using the same dropdown. 

If an opportunity is archived its Published Status is updated to Archived. If you unarchive an opportunity the published status becomes Unpublished

Changing content owner 

If you want to change the author and owner of one or more opportunities, select the checkbox on the left side next to each opportunity in your review list and then choose Change content owner and Apply. Search for the username of the user to which you’d like to assign ownership and select Next and Confirm.

Managing sign-ups 

Learn more about signing up volunteers

Managing time tracking 

Learn more about tracking volunteer time

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

We're enhancing B-Hive!
Take a quick survey and tell us what you think of the new experience.
Announcements
Stay up-to-date on what's happening at Benevity.