Managing program users

You can manage users and user roles directly in Benevity Grants and export user data to CSV. Make sure that users have the correct permissions to perform actions for their role in Benevity Grants and restrict them from seeing other features and data. 

Before you begin

As an administrator of the platform, you must have permissions in the User and Role section of user role permissions enabled to see and manage users and user roles.

The Users tool allows you to add users directly to the platform. You can only add users up to the agreed user count cap. Contact your Client Success Manager to request an additional user count.  

Add new user

To add a new user: 

  1. Go to Tools > Users and select Add new user.
  2. Enter user details. The email and password are the user login credentials. The password is temporary and the user will reset it when they sign in for the first time. 
  3. Select a checkbox for user email and notification preferences in the Communication section.
  4. Select a checkbox for options in Account status. An Active user is visible in the user list and is added to the user count.
  5. Select a user Role. Each role has different permissions and access and can be configured in Tools > Roles.
  6. Choose whether to Notify the user of their new account. The welcome email also includes information on how to reset the password.
  7. Select Submit.

Duplicate user

If you have multiple users with similar settings, it can be useful to duplicate an existing user. The settings for roles, communication, and account status are copied to the duplicated user. To duplicate and update a new user: 

  1. Go to Tools > Users and search for the user to duplicate.
  2. Select Actions > Duplicate.
  3. Enter user details. The email and password are the user login credentials. The password is temporary and the user will reset it when they sign in for the first time. 
  4. Other permissions will match those of the duplicated user. Make any necessary updates. 
  5. Select Submit.

Update an existing user or their user role

  1. Go to Tools > Users and search for the user.
  2. Select Actions > Edit.
  3. Update user information, preferences or user role. 
  4. Select Submit.

Deactivate user

  1. Go to Tools > Users and search for the user.
  2. Select Actions > Edit.
  3. Deselect all checkboxes listed under Account status.
  4. Select Submit.

 

Update user role permissions

To create a new role or update the permissions on an existing role, please contact your Client Success Manager.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

We're enhancing B-Hive!
Take a quick survey and tell us what you think of the new experience.
Announcements
Stay up-to-date on what's happening at Benevity.