You can send previously submitted grant requests or invitations back to applicants for edits and resubmission. And you can tailor the request for revisions email template for your specific needs. Once applicants receive your email, they’ll go back into their application form to make the edits and resubmit.
In this article:
- Before you start
- What's eligible for resubmission?
- Ask for revisions
- Cancel your ask for revisions
- Track resubmissions
Before you start
By default, the workflow rules that automatically assign values when a request is created, will not run again when a request is resubmitted.
If you’d like to have different workflow rules added for resubmissions, please contact your Benevity Client Success Manager.
What's eligible or ineligible for resubmission?
Eligible: Grant requests or invitations that originated from a form using the store and continue feature. This will ensure that the applicant's original answers and attachments will transfer over to their revised application form.
Ineligible: Manually submitted grant requests; requests submitted from a form not using store and continue; submissions just for follow-ups or scored reviews.
Ask for revisions
If you notice that a grant request is missing important information or needs a new attachment, you can ask the applicant to revise their original application.
Here’s how to ask for revisions:
- Open the request or invitation.
- Under the Actions section, select Ask for revisions.
- In the pop-up window, you’ll see a configurable email where you can let the applicant know what needs to be changed or updated. You can use the default copy provided or customize both the email subject line and the email body.
- Customize the email by rewriting the message in the text box or by using the merge tags.
- Select merge tags to pre-populate information into the email. In the example below, the first name and grant name tags were added to the email subject.
- When you’re happy with your email, select Send to Applicant.
- The email will go out 5-minutes after you hit send. The email will include a unique link that lets the applicant open an editable version of their application form.
The request status now changes to Awaiting Resubmission. The page will show an alert reminding anyone who views the request that it’s awaiting resubmission. The request is now locked for edits or reviews.
Other information about the emails:
- As well as the original email asking for revisions, they’ll also receive a reminder email 14-days after the original email, asking them to go and make their edits.
- The 5-minute delay in the original email going out was intentional. That way, if you realize you made a mistake or forgot something, you can cancel the revision and start over, without the applicant knowing about it. We’ll go over those steps in the next section.
Cancel your ask for revisions
You may want to cancel your request for a revision if you realize it’s no longer required, or perhaps you didn’t provide the applicant with enough detail in your first email you sent.
Here’s how to cancel your request:
- Open the request or invitation.
- Under the Actions section, select Cancel request for revisions.
- The request is now cancelled. If the applicant goes back to their application, they’ll see that it’s read-only. They will not be able to make any edits.
Will the applicant be notified of the cancellation?
- If you cancel the request before the original email was sent, the original email will not go out. The applicant will not know you had accidentally asked for a revision.
- If you cancel the request after the original email was sent, a second email will go out, letting the applicant know that their revisions are no longer required.
You can track and organize resubmissions through a few different areas of your program. We’ll go into more detail on each area below.
On the Dashboard:
- Under the Requests section you’ll see two cards for tracking resubmissions.
- Selecting View requests awaiting updates will take you to a list of all requests with the Awaiting Resubmission status.
- Selecting View updated requests will take you to a list of all requests with Resubmitted status.
- To narrow down the list of resubmissions, you can filter the items by Mine or All, as well as by changing the time period from all time to the last 7, 14, 30, 60 or 90 days.
In the Requests or Invitations pages:
To see the status of the resubmissions on your request or invitations list:
- Go to View Settings.
- Select the Resubmission status and Resubmission date checkboxes.
- Select Save.
- The two new columns will now show in your list.
In the Details sub-tab of the request or invitation:
If the request status is resubmitted, you can see the applicant’s edits by turning on the Revision Highlighting toggle.